Artist, actor, social activist

"Martha Farrell worked tirelessly to promote gender equality and prevent violence against women throughout her life. These Awards are being launched to recognize and promote sustained efforts in making organizations, communities and families gender equal and just. I am pleased to be part of the jury for the award."

Shabana Azmi is an internationally renowned film and theatre actress. She is also a greatly respected social activist. As Chairperson of Nivara Hakk, she has worked for the rights of slum dwellers in Mumbai for the last 30 years. She undertook a five-day hunger strike and courted arrest demanding alternative accommodation for a slum that had been demolished. The government was forced to agree. Nivara Hakk in a tripartite agreement between the government, a private builder and itself, and has built homes for 50000 slum dwellers for free.

As Chair of Mijwan Welfare Society, Shabana works for the rights of girls and women. She is opposed to religious fundamentalism of all hues, and is highly respected as a progressive liberal activist. She is a former member of the Rajya Sabha, the Upper House in India's Parliament. She is a recipient of the International Gandhi Peace Prize and has been given countless awards for her work both as an actor and activist.

Gender equality activist

"The institution of this Award is the best tribute possible to Martha. It will recognize and support the work of many young feminists and their organizations and thus lead to the realization of Martha's dreams. "

Kamla Bhasin is an eminent gender equality activist, social scientist and author, actively engaged in issues of gender equality, peace and human rights since 1970. She is an Advisor of Sangat, a feminist network; the South Asia coordinator of One Billion Rising Campaign; Co-President of Peace Women Across the Globe; and one of the founders of Jagori Delhi and Jagori Grameen, Himachal Pradesh.

Kamla believes in a form of advocacy that combines feminist theory and community action. She has always maintained that in order to usher effective change, sloganeering must be accompanied by community mobilization. She rejects the notion that feminism is a Western concept, stressing that Indian feminism has its roots in its own struggles and tribulations, and according to her men can also be feminists and they should be.

Founding Dean, Vedica Scholars Programme for Women

"Such an honour and privilege to be on the jury for the very prestigious and meaningful Martha Farrell Award for Excellence in Women's Empowerment."

Anuradha Das Mathur is the founding dean of The Vedica Scholars Programme for Women, an 18-month residential program in management practice for young women. She is committed to bringing more women into the workplace and ensuring their dignity through financial independence. She is a senior advisor to the Albright Stonebridge Group and founder director at 9.9 Media, India's fastest growing niche media company.

Anuradha was selected as a Fortune-US State Department Global Emerging Woman Leader in 2009, and as one of 100 Women Achievers by the government in 2015. She is currently a Yale World Fellow selected for her role as a globally engaged leader. She set up the Foundation for Working Women in 2014 to focus on professional women's issues. She is a founder at Samarth, which provides care for the elderly. She holds a BA (Honors) degree in economics from Lady Shri Ram College and an MA in economics from Cambridge University, England.

IAS (Retd.)

"I am honoured to be a jury member of the newly launched Martha Farrell Award for Excellence in Women's Empowerment to recognize gender champions."

Sushama Nath (IAS, Retd.) was the first female Finance Secretary to the Government of India. A 1974 Madhya Pradesh cadre Indian Administrative Service officer, she also officiated as the Expenditure Secretary. Sushama is reputed to have been a tough negotiator and played a significant role at the finance ministry while reining in profligate ministries and departments during the government's austerity drive. Sushma was a member of the Sixth Central Pay Commission, set up on October 5, 2006 and headed by B.N. Srikrishna. She was also a member of the five-member Fourteenth Finance Commission (for 2015-2020), whose award governs the sharing of taxes between the Centre and States.


"I am happy to be part of the jury for the annual Martha Farrell Award for Excellence in Women's Empowerment, a unique initiative to recognize valuable contributions being made towards women's empowerment in India"

Justice (Retd.) Ajit Prakash Shah is former chief justice of Delhi and Madras High Courts, and a former judge of the Bombay High Court. After retiring as Chief Justice of the Delhi High Court in 2010, Justice Shah was appointed Chairperson of the Broadcast Content Complaints Council (BCCC) and Chairperson of the Law Commission of India. He is the first ever ombudsman of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). He is a specialist in labour and equality issues, and is nationally and internationally considered as one of the boldest jurists India has witnessed in recent times, delivering landmark judgments in matters of societal equality, human rights, individual liberties, and freedom of speech and expression. At present, he serves as a member of the Committee of Experts at the International Labour Organization, Geneva.

Founder and Editor-in-Chief, Youth Ki Awaaz

"I believe we need to create structures that support the work that individuals and young organizations are doing around gender empowerment. It is my honour to be part of Martha Farrell Award for Excellence in Women's Empowerment as a jury member."

Anshul Tewari is an Ashoka Fellow and the Founder and Editor-in-Chief of (YKA), which is India's largest digital platform for young people to share stories and opinions on issues of importance. He has worked across new media and online journalism as a media entrepreneur. YKA currently has over 75,000 contributors and receives over 3 million readers a month. He also serves as a Director on the Board of Collectively, a World Economic Forum and Unilever collaborative non-profit, to help make the future better. He is currently leading the growth and strategic vision of the organization. In 2012, Anshul was named a Young Innovator by the United Nations International Telecom Union for innovation in crowd-sourcing.